{ R E C I P E } Moroccan Rosewater, Coconut & Strawberry Chia Pudding

Chia - 5

[MOROCCAN ROSEWATER, COCONUT & STRABERRY CHIA PUDDING]


 

Something came over me today and I just HAD to have Chia Pudding…sometimes its like that with me!

There are lots of Chia Pudding recipes out there, infact its quite the trend now to eat this delicious concoction. Chia pudding reminds me of tapioca that my Mum used to whip up for me when I was a small human…I loved it then and I still love it now – but this recipe is the new sassy version, that uses the wonderous Chia seed to make it modern and good for you.

I love layering this little pudding with fruits in between – it adds drama, colour and a wonderful texture and flavour to the dish. Usually I serve them in sweet little dishes but today with the addition of Rosewater, I thought I’d go all Moroccan with my beautiful tea glasses.

I love chia pudding for the simple fact that its light and delicious. Apart from this – its such a versatile treat…a basic vanilla pudding with additions of whatever filling takes your fancy!

I love this recipe I created as its an exotic take on the humble Chia Pudding and also looks beautiful as a dessert for a dinner party.

[INGREDIENTS]

1 x cup light coconut milk

1/4 x cup chia seeds

1 x tablespoon maple syrup

1 x teaspoon vanilla extract

1 x tablespoon plus 1x teaspoon of rosewater (*** IMPORTANT: depending on the brand you use, you may need more or less – all you need to do is JUST smell the rosewater in the preparation, I add teaspoonful’s until I have the desired scent, knowing that the flavour will follow).

1 x punnet of juicy strawberry’s, washed and halved

1 x tablespoon honey

1/4 x cup water

2 x teaspoons rosewater

Handful of green pistachios

Dried roses for garnish

[METHOD]

In a medium bowl whisk together the chia seeds, coconut milk, vanilla and maple syrup.

Add the rosewater one teaspoon at a time until the mixture becomes fragrant (see notes above). Cover and place in the fridge for 2 hours.

Chia - 1

Meanwhile, make the delicious strawberry filling. I’m a huge fan of strawberries – I could literally eat them every day. I’ve always been an extremist…

Chia - 2

Add the strawberries, honey and water to a saucepan and cook down until the fruit has collapsed – this may take about 10 minutes. You’ll know the fruit is done because there will be a divine strawberry smell in the air and a delicious syrup in the bottom of the saucepan. Once cooked turn off the heat, add the rosewater and stir. Set aside and allow the mixture to cool slightly. Oh my goodness I could eat the hot strawberries right out of the saucepan…

Chia - 3

This is the fun part…the layering is next! This is where the magic begins….eiikkkk (I’m excited!)…

Place a small amount of the pudding mixture in the bottom of the glass.

Chia - 4

Next add some of the cooked strawberry filling and then top with more pudding.

I finished the dish off with beautiful chopped green pistachios and crushed dried rose petals…

Chia - 6

Enjoy this little slice of Morocco…I know I sure did, as well as the two friends who happened to drop by and gobbled up their helping. Thanks Danni and Georgia for dropping by – I’ve never seen you both so damn quiet, while you devoured a treat!!!

Stay you and stay quirky

Love J x

 

4 thoughts on “{ R E C I P E } Moroccan Rosewater, Coconut & Strawberry Chia Pudding

    • I made this again the other day Brooke and my friend did a backflip! The outcome really does depend on the quality of the Rosewater used. Make sure you purchase one from a Middle Eastern store – they are the masers of it. x

Leave a Reply

