{ R E C I P E } Orange, Cinnamon & Vanilla Bean Compote

O Compote - 9

[RECIPE: ORANGE, CINNAMON & VANILLA BEAN COMPOTE]

Gluten free, Dairy free, Sugar free (except for honey)


So the first heady scents of my Gardenia’s exploded into life this morning…it was a cause for celebration!

I knew it was coming – but was uncertain when. I had been watching the blooms become fuller and fuller over the coming weeks and to my surprise, overnight they erupted…but only with one flower! There are so many more to come…I’m chuffed.

I wasn’t sure if I should pick it…but I was so excited, I just had to have it by my breezy kitchen window, so that my cooking space would be filled with its sweetness. Oh how I love these little white flowers…they are just breathtaking. Next to my rock art…they sure do ‘rock’!!!

O - Compote - 13

So the Gardenias always herald the coming Summer months…so it was a cause for celebration. I decided I’d make a bright, cheery and damn delicious compote – so with oranges, cinnamon sticks and fresh vanilla beans on hand, I decided today’s recipe would be a favourite compote of mine. I’m a little compote obsessed, so I think I may make more this week…their sticky sweetness and bright colours always make me happy.

Whilst meandering around my local produce store, I came across these Navel Oranges – so glad they called out to me, as they were super sweet and just perfect for the recipe – but any other orange will do.

O Compote - 1

So here is the recipe…hold on to your britches…

[RECIPE]

  • 6 x juicy oranges
  • 2 x tablespoons of creamed honey (or any other type will do)
  • 1 x cinnamon stick
  • 1/2 x vanilla bean – I usually scrape all the seeds out and also place the bean in the cooking pot
  • 1/4 cup water

Garnish:

  • Vanilla bean yoghurt
  • 1/2 x cup crushed almonds
  • 1/2 x cup crushed hazelnuts
  • 1/2 x cup shredded coconut

[METHOD]

Zest two of the oranges finely and place the zest into a medium saucepan.

O Compote - 2

Next juice these two oranges and place the juice into the same saucepan. Discard the skins.

O Compote - 3

Next add the cinnamon, vanilla bean, honey and water to the saucepan and stir gently.

O Compote - 6

O Compote - 7

Bring the mixture gently to the boil, ensuring the honey has melted and simmer for 5-10 minutes until it has slightly reduced.

While the syrup is reducing, you need to segment the oranges. Cut the top and bottom off the oranges and then cut around the orange to remove all the skin and pith. Next, using a sharp knife slide the blade in between the segments – down the membrane until you hit the central core. Then do the other side of the segment. You end up cutting a ‘V’ shape. I do this over a bowl so that I can catch all the juice. Once completed, I squeeze the remaining membrane to release the juice. Once all four oranges are done, pour the juice into the saucepan.

O Compote - 4

What you’re left with is a delicious pile of segments…YUM

O Compote - 5

Next place the segments into the simmering syrup. Allow the mixture to come back to the boil for 1 minute and then turn it off. We don’t really want the oranges to cook – just heat through.

The compote is now done. You can either eat it warm or allow it to cool.  I like to serve it with both the cinnamon sick and vanilla bean as it looks earthy and nourishing.

O Compote - 10

I like it cool as I think it works best when accompanied with yoghurt and warm nuts! I place the nuts and the coconut into a frypan and dry fry them until they are golden.

O Compote - 12

I plate up the yoghurt, drizzle the beautiful compote with the delicious vanilla beans in it and then top it with the warm nut and coconut mixture and serve immediately. It’s kind of like a crumble…it’s divine!

O Compote - 11

It seriously looks and tastes so decedent…you’d never know it was good for you!!!!

Enjoy any Gardenia’s you have in bloom, whilst feasting on this sublime compote!

Remember food is YOUR fuel!

Stay you & stay quirky

Love J x